My Week at News Queensland

The past week I was fortunate enough to be accepted into News Queensland as an Intern. I worked in the news section of The Courier Mail and The Sunday Mail.

Front of News Queensland on my first day, 16 September 2013.
Front of News Queensland on my first day, 16 September 2013.

Everyone was so great to me and allowed me to get really involved in the job. I even published a few stories (which you can find in my Published stories page).

The first day I was given my own desk, followed by a story to pursue. Seeing my name in the paper the following day was an awesome experience, and one I will never forget.

On my second day in The Courier Mail, one of the police journalists took me to the Queensland Police Station in Brisbane for a live press conference regarding the re-opened 1991 murder investigation. I felt so professional standing there with my recording device as journalists from several different organisations yelled over each other to have their question heard and answered.

Queensland Police Press Conference regarding re-opened 1991 murder investigation, on 17 September 2013.
Queensland Police Press Conference regarding re-opened 1991 murder investigation, on 17 September 2013.

On a side note, I had been in liaison with the Managing Editor of the Brisbane Times, Simon Holt, trying to get a story of mine published. It was in the online publication on Wednesday, 18 September (click here to view the story). I had so many messages of congratulations from friends and family! It was incredibly exciting having everything happening all at once for me in this week.

On the Thursday I went out on the job with one of the photographers to photograph snake catchers Geoff and Darren Jacobs for my snake story. It was pretty thrilling getting up, close and personal with deadly snakes… the joys of becoming a journalist!

Photographing Snake Catchers Geoff and Darren Jacobs for The Courier Mail, on 19 September 2013.
Photographing Snake Catchers Geoff and Darren Jacobs for The Courier Mail, on 19 September 2013.

The absolute best part of my week was when both News Directors from The Courier Mail and The Sunday Mail told me to come back for a full internship whenever I want. That same afternoon, I was speaking with the Editor of The Sunday Mail, who told me to come and work for him as soon as I finish my degree! I cant’t wait to start my career. I’ve still got a few more years of university to go.

It sure is a relief to know that I’m studying the right degree and that I’m doing what I want to do. Every time I have this realisation, I think back to my lovely high school English teacher who inspired me to go down this career path. Thank god I took her advice!

Keep your eyes peeled for more published stories from me in the future 🙂

Ellie

Leave a Reply

